Diary Of A Schizophrenic

who knifed my wife; who took her soul
Beast Within Me by PiedraI do not know, I loved her so

was hard to see her bloody body
lying lifeless, an empty mess

I do not know who knifed my wife,
I was there that night,
singing her a lullaby

within minutes, I was in
a swamp of vampires that hollered in my head.
Stab her to death!

Kill her, they said.

Red and hot it beat, my heart
an insane rage ripped it apart

left as she slept, without a sound
hounded by the fiends who
followed me around

Ran to our room, rested, and soon
I looked to see the vampires
dancing on the moon

pulled out a blade and let them see
heard her scream
“Honey, stop! Please!”

I growled and howled and locked the door
the blade in my hand began to glow

sneers and jeers ringed their mouths, menace and mirth on devilish pout.
“Stop!” she cried, stupefied but the vampires began to fly
I know who dragged my wife like a beggar’s rag; the vampires, not I.

looked to see her sunk in blood
the fiends fighting on her head.

Hacked and cracked, stomped and stabbed.
the blade was bad and jagged.

with a feral moan they left her alone, alive.
her eyes had light but she died that night
Was it all a lie?

I do not know who killed my love
who slashed her body, took her soul
who hammered her from head to toe

I do not know
I loved her so!

(published in High on Poems, 2015)

One thought on “Diary Of A Schizophrenic

Leave a Reply

